from The laughter of Peterkin by Fionna Macleod

“In those first fragments of Peterkin’s experiences, all his life was foreshadowed. Wonder, delight, longing, laughter–the four winds of childhood–these blew for him through his first few years, through childhood and boyhood and youth. He is a man now; but though the laughter is rarer and the longing deeper and more constant, there still blow through the dark glens and wide sunlit moors of his mind the four winds of Laughter, Longing, Wonder, and Delight.”

Fionna Macleod (William Sharp), A retelling of old tales of the celtic underworld, 1897




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s